Are you on the top of your To-Do-List?

Tonight I had the opportunity to watch former Olympic figure skater Karen Courtland Kelly host a workshop called “The Energy Show” at Reform Pilates in Saratoga Springs. The studio has been abuzz for weeks about her coming visit and I’ll be honest I wasn’t exactly sure what the big deal was. Meghan Del Prete, owner of the studio, has put together an amazing staff and the changes I see in clients, while I work part time at the front desk are amazing. There is more energy, are more smiles, I can visibly see clients standing taller, and constantly hear stories about how everyday life becomes so much better after sticking with their private sessions. It’s hard to imagine anyone more positive and genuine than Meghan, so you can see my hesitation. (Have you been to her studio yet? Not only do you get trained instructors who really care, it is the perfect workout to strengthen your core and avoid back pain and injuries)
It wasn’t until I met Karen though, that I realized what the big deal was about. Not only is she clearly a dedicated Pilates instructor and skating coach, but she exudes this beautiful amount of contagious positive energy. It’s is really difficult not to feel upbeat and smiling when she is around. I suppose this is why she was at the studio hosting this workshop called The Energy Show; a workshop that she was originally hired by Disney on Ice to perform. The curious thing however; is that while I learned a lot from her workshop (do you know the difference between good fats and bad? Or that drinking water first thing when you wake up can have a huge effect on the energy you have the rest of the day) what I realized is that most of what she was teaching, we already kind of know. It’s that voice hidden deep deep deep deep inside you that just knows what your body really needs. You know that voice, the one that nags at us quietly from somewhere within, the voice we never listen to! It tells us when we have not gotten enough sleep, it tells us when we have been still for too long, and if we really listen to our bodies we can even feel common colds or signs of dehydration coming on; things that we can easily take action to fix. Fix, if we only listened to our bodies.

Karen Courtland Kelly at Reform Pilates in Saratoga Springs

Karen Courtland Kelly at Reform Pilates in Saratoga Springs


We live in a culture of movers and shakers, getting things taken care of and checking things off our to do lists. How many of us put ourselves on this list? When was the last time you valued your ability to take a time out for yourself and get a much needed nap, or move your body in a form of exercise that feels good? When was the last time you really checked in with your body and examined what it is that your body NEEDS to operate at optimum levels? I know! It’s on your to do list, it’s just at the bottom of your to do list, the part that always gets carried over for tomorrow.
Listening to Karen talk tonight I realized that no matter what I have going on, nourishing my body should always be my TOP Priority. It should be yours too! So in true Karen Courtland Kelly style, I am going to do something about it! A good night rest, followed by a big glass of water when I wake up, and it will be time to check in with my body. Time to spend some time with myself at the top of my to do list and create a plan of nourishment for my unique body. Are you ready to write your plan? What are you waiting for?
Nourish your Body; Feed Your Soul
~Stephanie Cavoli, LMT

